“I’m blunt? Oh, yeah…” What Has Your Blogging Mirror Taught You?

It’s tough to recall exactly when I started blurting, but I suspect it coincided with another milestone: the day I started speaking. According to my parents, one of my earliest emerged when I wasn’t yet two. My mom had just broken the news that I could no longer sip from the Bosom Bar because she was pregnant with another, which would turn our family of five into six.

“So you’re going to be four mommies?” I asked, pondering the upcoming NKOTB. (Don’t pretend you don’t know what that means.)

“Yes.”

“Well, there’s only one daddy, and he’s all mine.” I swear I’m not a sociopath. A bit envious back then, sure, but not conscience-less. (Thank goodness. I’ve been researching the heck out of sociopathology for an upcoming radio episode.)

When I learned the other morning that Girl Boner is a finalist for Best Blunt Blog in The Indie Chicks’ Badass Blog Awards, I was crazy-honored, but also surprised. Sure, I’m prone to blurting, but… I’m blunt?

photo.PNG-2

Our blog-mirrors sure tell us a lot! #bluntandproudofit

For some reason, I correlated “blunt” with rude comments, like my toddler-remark had it been said by a mature adult. Back then, I had that cute-cuz-I’m-a-kid thing going on. Then I thought about it.Blunt can mean harsh, but it can also mean uncompromisingly forthright, direct and to the point. (Thank you, Webster!)

Hmm…

I have talked a lot about clitorises, my brain-gasm MRI, bralessness and ex-partners. And if there’s one thing #GirlBoner isn’t, it’s subtle. (Call me crazy, but I don’t think #ExcitedDownThere has the same ring to it.) Subtlety wouldn’t get me anywhere in a culture in which innumerable obstacles stand in the way of female sexual embracement, keeping way too many women from living full, authentic lives—often with little, if any, knowledge that it’s happening. Not because they aren’t brilliant, but because of the world we live in.

See? There I go again. #NotSorry Partly because maintaining this blog helped me embrace myself further. It’s also shed light on who I actually am—which is rather key to the whole living authentically thing.

That’s one of the most beautiful things about blogging: the mirror it provides us. When I first started, I worried that readers would deem me a perplexing ping-pong ball. “I’m all over the place!” But you know what? None of us are as bouncy as we may think. Common threads appear when we let the words flow—or, in my case, dart. If we don’t stand in their way, we never know where they’ll lead.

That doesn’t mean everyone should write about clits and brain-gasms, of course, or anything controversial. What’s important is being who we are, out loud, without crippling fear over what others will think. Blogging unapologetically has literally changed my life, leading to everything from incredible friendships to my radio show and speaking gigs. This week, it led to this groovy award nomination.

I’m so, so grateful.

When I told my mom about the nomination, she started giggling and singing, “Everybody blurts (hurts), sometimes….” LOL Surely, I got my blurt-gene from her. Anyhow, if you’d like to vote for me—or anyone!—use this link:

Blog Awards: Vote for the Finalists! #ICBBAwards

I also highly recommend subscribing to the publication while you’re there, and liking/following them on Facebook and Twitter (@TheIndieChicks). While you’re there, wish them a happy birthday! They’re celebrating three years of empowering awesomeness. Huge congrats to my pals Jess Witkins and Aussa Lorens for being nominated as well! So well-deserved. ♥

What has blogging taught you about yourself? What’s the biggest blurt that’s ever escaped your lips? Are you blunt? Your comments and support give me a #GirlBoner. Seriously.

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. New Kid on the Boob?

    Reply
    • LOL Now there’s a groovy band name. 🙂

      Reply
      • Ha! More like a remake of TV show? I’ll run it by The Bare Naked Ladies…never sure if that’s one word or two…never much cared to know!

        By the way, I forgot to congratulate you earlier. The coffee hadn’t kicked in yet, plus I was trying to figure how mom’s manage triplets in the milk department. Do the infants have to wrestle in the crib for first dibs or something like that? 🙂

      • LOL Sounds good! And thanks for the kudos. 🙂

  2. Great piece! Subtle is the best way to be misunderstood. I call your style, forthright and honest. Gets my vote every time.

    Reply
  3. Hi August, I voted for Girl Boner. Blunt as you are you are the nicest blunt person I’ve ever met. Hope you win.

    Reply
  4. Congratulations August! So well deserved and fitting. I love what #GirlBoner is doing and how you’re getting the dialogue going. You rock!

    Reply
  5. Congratulations! “Blunt” as “forthright and honest and to the point”? Sure! And increasingly important these days, for all sorts of reasons. Keep up the good work.

    Reply
  6. As I read this, I had to go back and reread your post on bralessness. I agree with you about nipples. You can go braless around me any time you want to, although I’ll have to admit, I might find it difficult to pay attention to whatever I was supposed to be doing.

    Reply
  7. I only got to know your blog today through the IndieChicks nomination but I already feel like it fits you really well 😉 As a German I have never actually learned to word “blunt” but it’s what people use to descibe some of the persons I admire most so to me it always felt like a good thing. On my first blog I thought a lot about what others want to read (especially once I started getting more traffic) but on my new blog I focus on being myself or rather finding out who that is, because you’re right this is the key to an authentic life. Thanks for sharing ❤

    Reply
    • Thanks for stopping by, and for the sweet words, Sunita! What a beautiful name. 🙂 I’ll check your blog out as well. So glad to hear that you’ve chosen authenticity, too. It’s much more fun, and I think it strikes readers more, too.

      Reply
  8. Off to vote for you, August! It’s a no-brainer for me on which blog rocks my world.

    I tried earlier and WordPress didn’t like my email address — even though I know it’s the right one. What’s up with that? If it continues to bounce me out, I’ll be there as an anonymous vote, but I will be there.

    I L.O.V.E. your blunt talk.

    Reply
  9. laurie27wsmith

     /  May 18, 2015

    Dang! The voting has closed August. I still think you’re blog is great and to the point.
    Cheers
    Laurie.

    Reply
  10. Oh yeah, August!!!! Mathair and I are so proud of you. I have to say that I’m not very blunt, quite to the contrary I’m quite reserved in my mannerisms and speech. I was, however, raised by a very sexually independent and blunt mother that pulled no punches and told it like it was. It’s a courage that I still strive to achieve in my life and continues to amaze me when I see it in such strong women as you and Mathair. Embrace your bluntness, August. Those that it pricks against are just not comfortable enough with themselves and those that it resonates with will take up that armor and ride into battle with you! Have a great week and we wish you nothing but luck, though we’re sure you’re going to get it hands down. 😉

    Reply
  1. Is That Weird? – Shit I Did as a Kid | Jess Witkins' Happiness Project
  2. The Almost X-Rated Garage Sale (Part 2) | Jenny Hansen's Blog

Leave a comment