Butter Heads and Blog Awards

Did My Mother Put You Up to This?

Shortly before I swapped my acting career for writing, a casting director said something I’ll never forget: “You look so familiar… Ever had your head carved out of butter?”

I knew immediately that he was A) from Minnesota, where head-butter sculpting is celebrated, B) had a bizarre dairy-chiseling fetish or C) knew my mother. (Mom’s been known to set people up for such…adventures.) Before I could speculate further, he  revealed himself as a MN State Fair groupie. So I busted out my best Fargo-like accent and ended up landing the job. (Nothin’ wrong with some extra edge, yah know.)

While I’ve never donned the Princess Kay of the Milky Way crown—an honor given by the MN Dairy Princess Program each year (And yes, winners’ heads are actually carved out of butter and put on display…), I’ve recently gained a bunch of nifty blog awards. And like the C.D.’s question, the warm fuzzy flurry raised surprise and suspicion: Hmm…Did my mother put you up to this?? 

Regardless, tremendous THANKS to Marc Schuster, Kourtney HeintzMarcy KennedyJessica O’Neal and NM for the Versatile Blogger honors, Debra Kristi for the Inspiring Blogger Award and Sharon K Owen for the Leibster. Y’all deserve these accolades and more. Wish I could carve you out of butter! (I mean that in the BEST way possible.)

*DRUM ROLL* I present these awards to…

1. Marla Martenson: Metaphysical Matchmaker
2. Pat O’Dea Rosen: Reading, Writing and Rambling: Comments and observations on books, movies, writing, travel and other things that strike our fancy
3.  Violets and Cardamom
4.  Ellis Shuman Writes: A Virtual Home for my Writing
5.  You’ve Been Hooked: Observations from the Trenches
6.  Ray, of The Journal Pulp
7.  Lance, of My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog
8.  Tameri Etherton: A Cup of Tea and Sourcery
9.  Little Miss Vix: The Journey of An Aspiring YA Author
10. Jennifer L. Oliver: World Beneath An Evening Star 

1. Reflection of a Buddhist Monk
2. Natalie Hartford: Life Out Loud: Be yourself…Everyone else is taken.
3. Joe Bunting of The Write Practice: Practical Inspiration
4. Write On, Jana! Random insights on health, happiness, housekeeping and the pursuit of margin…
5.  Holly Kammier: Could Have Been Hollywood

1. Moe and Moe’s LA Adventures
2. Unpublished Patti
3. Minerva, of Finding the Right Words
4. Sanjiv Bhattacharya: Something Good is Going to Happen
5. Cadbury Fife: Cadbury’s Detective Agency and other works of unimaginable genius 

WINNERS! Please pass your award on to 15 others and share 7 “random facts” about yourself and the award logo on your blog. For more details, visit: Versatile Blogger Award or Leibster Blog Awards. Have fun!

7 Random Facts About Yours Truly:
1. I’m an ambi-vert—equal parts intro./extro.
2. I’m the average of my parents’ heights: 6′ 4″ and 5’3″.
3. I’m a sagi-corn or capri-carious—depending on which horoscope’s better.
4. I like kids, especially my coolio niece pack, but don’t intend to have any.
5. I do, however, parent an American bull dog named Zoe—a.k.a., my heart.
6. I dream of performing in a bestselling writers band like Rock Bottom Remainders. (If Mr. King happens upon this, I’m available!)
7. My first novel, IN HER SHADOW, is a psychological thriller that began as a memoir.

Gotta ask. Have you ever had your head carved out of butter? Other foods? What odd questions have strangers asked you?

Leave a comment

46 Comments

  1. Lance

     /  January 9, 2012

    thank you. I’m honored to be on your radar.

    I’m ambidextrous. Also, everyone asks if I’m Italian or South American. My looks are mostly influenced by cherokee indian on both sides and german.

    Reply
    • Do you play guitar?? How cool would it be to flip the guitar from strumming left-handed to right and vice versa?? Looks like you have several random facts set for your post… 😉

      Reply
  2. how lucky you are to give so many awards and make so many people happy. I look forward to checking out these blogs.

    Reply
  3. Congratulations on the blog awards, August!

    I love those butterheads. LOL!

    Reply
  4. I’m sending buttery love and big thanks your way August, but I’ve got one question: Did my mother put you up to this?.

    Reply
  5. Wow. I wouldn’t have believed it without the picture. I’d rather have my head carved in chocolate, so I could eat it afterwards. Congrats on the blog awards and thanks for giving us some new blogs to check out.

    Reply
  6. So what happens to the butter heads once the fair or whatever is over? That’s a LOT of butter!

    Reply
    • We slather it on gigantic potatoes! LOL Kidding. Actually, the recipients keep their sculptures. Last year, I read a story about three sisters who’d all held the honor. Their parents’ freezer was full of butter heads. (MN life provides endless fodder for fiction… ;))

      Reply
  7. “Wish I could carve you out of butter!” Hehehehe. I think that might possibly be the strangest compliments I’ve ever received, and I think it’s awesome 🙂

    I don’t plan to have any biological kids either (though my husband and I are thinking about adopting). People tend to assume that when you don’t want to have kids, it means you don’t like them, but it’s not at all true. I adore my closest friends’ kids 🙂

    Reply
  8. Which writer was it that said if you wanted to take writing seriously, don’t have children? Well, I already f’d that one up. Ooh! Sorry. Potty mouth.

    I think butter would be a lot easier to work with than ice or chocolate. There’s something to do with your butter of the month club! 😀 LOL

    Congratulations on all the pretty shinnies! You are completely deserving. I will have to check out some of these blogs here that I have never heard of. 🙂

    Reply
    • Someone SAID that?? Man, I need a copy of that quote. *noting to self: Google it!* I certainly don’t believe having children is detrimental to our creativity or careers… (In some cases, it probably helps. Look at you, prima skilled at both!) On occasion, someone gives me the “but you have to have children!” speech. I appreciate the friendly ammo. 😉

      Did you say potty mouth? LOL! That and apologizing for almost cussing….You’re too funny, Debra!

      Reply
  9. I’m pretty sure Paula Dean needs to be carved out of butter. That would be her kind of heaven. Me? Not so much. Still, that’s pretty darn funny that the guy asked if you’d ever been carved out of butter. Funnier still that you knew what he meant! Congrats on the awards! All very well-deserved. Thank you so much for bestowing on my the Versatile Blogger Award! You’re so awesome, August. Seriously.

    Reply
    • What a brilliant idea! I should contact the Dairy Association pronto… I’m sure the MN State Fair would welcome the queen of all-things-butter.

      Thanks for the kudos and you’re WELCOME for yours. Your blog has been one of my favorites from the get-go!

      Reply
  10. OMG! I never heard of butter carving!
    Congrats on your awards. Nice revelations, too. I’m also one of those women who loves kids, but will never have any. We’re a strange breed, I hear.

    Reply
    • Always nice to connect with other women who don’t want/have kid-lets. I read that 25% of women choose not to have children nowadays…But it’s amazing how much criticism and pressure there can be—fortunately not in this circle. We’re so blessed to have so many options, right? I respect all of ’em.

      Reply
  11. Where do I dispute some of the awards?

    Reply
    • Sorry, Cadbury… No disputing your award. You can dispute it on your own blog, however. If you do, happy to join the debate!

      PS Hope I’m not butchering this, but perhaps I opted ‘das Beste bis zum Schluss aufheben.’ 😉

      Reply
  12. What a great example of paying it forward with eagerness!

    What fabulous bloggers August. Congratulations to you all! 🙂

    Reply
  13. You never cease to amaze (and amuse) me, August! I am truly honored to have been named on your list. You certainly deserve EVERY accolade you receive!
    And since I did procreate (twice!) and one of my little blessings is allergic to dairy… I wonder if you can “carve” Earth Balance?? See what motherhood does to you?!

    Reply
    • Earth Balance sculpting… Love it! Hmm… Try placing the tub in the freezer for a bit first. If you give it a go, please share the details! (Your kids can blame me. ;))

      Thanks for your sweet words, Jana! They mean so much.

      Reply
  14. Butter head ot not, August, you’re a real sweetie pie!
    Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

    Reply
  15. Thank you August, I really appreciate it!!

    Reply
  16. Marc Schuster

     /  January 10, 2012

    When you start the band, I’m in!

    Reply
  17. Love all the awards and now have a list of new blogs to check out! Carving your head out of butter, that sounds fun! Here in Texas at the fair we serve fried butter, but I haven’t seen the butter sculptures and I wouldn’t suggest we combine the two. That woudln’t be nice:)

    Reply
  18. Margarine or I-Can’t-Believe-It’s-Not?

    Reply
    • Hmm… Y’all are too darn creative! Try freezing it first, as I suggested to Jana. Hard margarine at normal fridge temp should work. (I love that I’m giving advice on something I’ve never attempted the proper way, BTW… In other words, proceed with caution!)

      Reply
  19. August, great post. I want my little dog, Duke’s likeness carved in butta!

    BTW … Here’s another award for your mantle:

    Congratulations! It’s official – The Academy, okay, mj monaghan, has recognized your wonderful blog with the Versatile Blogger Award!

    Here’s the envelope with more details: http://wp.me/p1JIsL-cQ!

    Reply
    • I’m so touched, MJ! Wish I could chisel a Duke sculpture for ya… How bout this. If I ever l learn to carve anything out of anything, Duke will top my list.

      Reply
  20. What an interesting thing to have done as recognition of someone. A butter-head. Got to love the imagination of that. And the skill. It looks really good.

    Thank you for posting all of these links in one spot. I look forward to looking at them and finding more blogs that are good. And congradulations on being nominated for so many yourself.

    Reply
  21. Hilarious! I’m a former LA actress turned writer myself 😉 Thank you for the awesome list of blogs!

    Reply
  22. Kourtney Heintz

     /  January 10, 2012

    Thanks August! Butter is my second favorite food after chocolate. I would love love love a carving of my head in butter, but I’d feel guilty for biting my own head off. I’d still do it though. 🙂

    Reply
  23. Congratulations to all the winners! This seems to be a season for the blog awards (I just hosted one, Fabio and his wana1011 class did too, plus Debra Kristi (Krager) as well!!!). So much fun.

    I love your random facts, especially number 7 🙂

    Reply
  24. Congrats on all the awards and award love. No butter carvings that I’m aware of, you never know with the Internet. I love No. 7 too. Very interesting. I have a twin sister, so I’ve heard a lot of weird questions.

    Reply
  25. Butter sculpture – Brilliant!

    Reply
  26. Thanks for the recognition August!

    Reply
  27. jonesingafter40

     /  January 12, 2012

    Can’t say that I’ve ever had my head carved out of butter. Being from the South I’m pretty sure that any butter sculptor around here would be endlessly frustrated by passers-by slicing off chunks of his work to spread on biscuits and such. Thank you so much for visiting me today! Glad to have found you!

    Reply

Leave a comment