The Question Game on Steroids

“A question that sometimes drives me hazy: am I or are the others crazy?”
—Albert Einstein

From the moment I spotted The Book of Questions at a bookstore, I knew I’d put it to good use—and I did, at countless slumber parties, road trips and even a few dates. (Hmm, I wonder why those relationships didn’t last long…) Nothing gets the ball rolling, or catapulting off in crazy directions, like a heap of questions.

Well a fun question game, much like the BoQ, is circulating the web lately and the fabulous Fabio Bueno named me a victim participant. (Thanks again, Fabio!) Once selected for “Eleven Questions,” you’re to follow these rules:

  1. Post the rules.
  2. In the same post, answer the questions.
  3. Create eleven new questions to ask eleven new victims participants.
  4. Tag those people and share links to their blogs in your post.
  5. Let them know you’ve tagged them.

Here are Fabio’s questions and my answers:

1. What is your favorite historical period and why? The seventies. I totally would’ve been a change-making, guitar-strumming hippy.

2. List your top five favorite movies. Off the top of my head—Silence of the Lambs, Seven, The Sixth Sense, The Wizard of Oz and Shattered Glass.

3. Your house is on fire. Your loved ones–humans and pets–are already safe outside. They have your driver’s license and a flash drive with all your backups (files and all the media you own). You have time to save one more object. What would you get? My chest of letters wrapped up in a quilt made with material from my husband’s mom and mine, attached to my guitar. ;)

4. Who let the dogs out? You can invite any three people in the world for a dinner–anyone alive. Who are your guests? Oprah and my parents. If Mom and Dad weren’t free, I’d invite the Dalai Lama and Maya Angelou.

5. Congress/the gods/smiling extraterrestrials said you can only have one type of food every meal for the rest of your life (they’ll supplement your diet with vitamin pills). Which food would you choose? Indian.

6. In an episode of “Friends”, they all reveal their freebie list: five celebrities with whom they can hook up without upsetting their partners. Who’s in yours? No one. I’m expensive. (Ha!) Seriously, though, upsetting my partner is only one of numerous reason I’d opt out.

7. (Huge spoiler alert.) Some people think the Hunger Games is bloody. In Harry Potter 6, fifteen characters die. In HP7, the body count is over fifty (see here). JK is rewriting the series, and she let you choose one character from any of the seven books to get a reprieve. Who would it be and why? I haven’t read the books or seen the movies, so…whoever’s meanest.

8. What’s your worst fear? Serious harm—to loved ones or me.

9. You can choose your own nickname, with an assurance that no one would ever mock you. Tell us your choice. BA = Bestselling author. LOL Kidding! Sort of.

10. What’s the best vacation you have ever had? Morrow Bay with my husband. We spent our “honeymoon” time and funds taking care of my post-surgery bull dog. The resort trip felt more like our honeymoon than another couple’s wedding.

11. Congress/the gods/smiling extraterrestrials said you must move to any fantasy or sci-fi setting (books, movies, videogames, rpgs) of your choice—permanently. Where would you go? The happy place in What Dreams May Come.

Now for the BEST part—asking some of my favorite bloggers new questions. Here are the contestants I’ve chosen:

Catherine Johnson
Nisha
Marc Schuster
Marla Martenson
M.G. Edwards
Mike Sirota
Nigel Blackwell
Raaini York
Rich Weatherly
Stacy C. Jensen
Susie Lindau

Your questions:
1. What did you eat for breakfast?
2. If you could re-live any day of your life, as often as you’d like, which would you choose?
3. Of the books you’ve read recently, which is your favorite?
4. You have front row seats and back stage passes for any concert. Who’s on stage?
5. Who’s the last person you hugged?
6. What’s your favorite smell?
7. What’s your best bargain-hunting or money-saving tip?
8. What’s your funniest or strangest high school memory?
9. How do you feel about your birthday?
10. What do you not miss about being younger?
11. What about you tends to surprise others?

I look forward to reading your responses, assuming you’re up for the challenge. ;) Everyone else, I’d love to hear your answer to at least one of these questions. If you’re feeling especially inquisitive, ask us all one, too!

Leave a comment

45 Comments

  1. lovely – so glad to get to know you better, August. I think BA sounds good on you

    Reply
  2. What about me surprises people – I am a grandad.

    Q for all of you – what, if anything, did you want to be when you were a kid?

    Reply
    • Great ‘surprise’ and question. I had aspirations ranging from radio DJ in India to a philanthropist——before I learned that I had to HAVE loads of money in order to give it ;). But I think in my heart of hearts, I was a writer all along.

      Reply
  3. Stacy S. Jensen

     /  April 4, 2012

    I totally agree with your No. 6. I don’t get that. I’ll play along in May – after the A to Z challenge! I can tell you the last person I hugged was Hubby before he went off to work.

    Reply
  4. Wow, August. Starting the day with a ‘Test’ LOL – I’ll give it a shot.

    1. What did you eat for breakfast? Granola Cereal w/ almond milk, protein supplement, blueberries and a banana.
    2. If you could re-live any day of your life, as often as you’d like, which would you choose? The day before I lost my daughter.
    3. Of the books you’ve read recently, which is your favorite? Small As A Mustard Seed, by Shelli Johnson.
    4. You have front row seats and back stage passes for any concert. The last one I attended… Nutcracker Ballet with cast including my grand daughter, and .on stage?
    5. Who’s the last person you hugged? My wife.
    6. What’s your favorite smell? Cured hay and horses.
    7. What’s your best bargain-hunting or money-saving tip? Compare prices via internet search.
    8. What’s your funniest or strangest high school memory? When I one best dressed as an Appalachian hillbilly during the school Halloween party.
    9. How do you feel about your birthday? One more milestone.
    10. What do you not miss about being younger? Physical abilities.
    11. What about you tends to surprise others? That I’m more shy in public than might be expected.

    Reply
    • Wow, Rich. #2 is heart-wrenching, particularly since I recently read your touching story. Feel free to share this and pass the game on within your blog, as you wish. In either case, I give you an A++!

      Reply
  5. I would take my CD collection. I mean, it’s my fourth daughter.

    Reply
  6. Love it!!! You listed a few of my fav movies and my greatest fear as well. Totally dig BA and that you’d want your parents to come to dinner. AWESOME!!!

    1. What did you eat for breakfast?
    Coffee – I know but rushing today. :)))
    2. If you could re-live any day of your life, as often as you’d like, which would you choose?
    My wedding day
    3. Of the books you’ve read recently, which is your favorite?
    Elena Aitken’s Drawing Free and Patricia Sands The Bridge Club – sorry – rule breaker. LOL!
    4. You have front row seats and back stage passes for any concert. Who’s on stage?
    Aerosmith or Lady Gaga
    5. Who’s the last person you hugged?
    Hubby
    6. What’s your favorite smell?
    Vanilla
    7. What’s your best bargain-hunting or money-saving tip?
    Bring hubby – he’ll haggle anywhere, any place, any time – even at retail stores. LOL!
    8. What’s your funniest or strangest high school memory?
    I have completely blocked out all memories of high school. LOL!!
    9. How do you feel about your birthday?
    LOVE them….it’s a season!!!
    10. What do you not miss about being younger?
    Insecurity and low self-esteem….
    11. What about you tends to surprise others?
    How serious I can be….lol….
    Happy day August!!!

    Reply
  7. mgedwards

     /  April 4, 2012

    1. What did you eat for breakfast?
    The competition. Um, no, sorry, I misread the question. I thought you asked who I ate for breakfast, but then, I suppose then the question would be, “Who did I eat for lunch?” Well, hmm. I started the morning with a homemade, double shot café mocha, two browning pygmy bananas, and a bowl of two kinds of cereal leftover in the bottom of the bags. With 2% milk. And orange juice that tasted too sweet to be real.

    2. If you could re-live any day of your life, as often as you’d like, which would you choose?
    Yesterday. Definitely yesterday. Then I could add more than 24 hours in a day, any day.

    3. Of the books you’ve read recently, which is your favorite?
    “In Her Shadow” by August McLaughlin! My favorite book of all time. Of course, if reading the book is a qualifier and I can’t choose my own book, which I’ve read and re-read ad nauseum, then I’d have to choose “Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight – An African Memoir” by Alexandra Fuller. She’s an amazing writer.

    4. You have front row seats and back stage passes for any concert. Who’s on stage?
    Until last month I would have said Lady GaGa because she’s coming Bangkok on May 20 — I don’t like her music all that much, but how could I pass up the chance to see such a phenomenal performer? Then I discovered an incredibly talented Australian indie singer named Gotye and would love to see him on stage and meet him back stage! He’s an excellent musician, and I admire his success as an independent artist.

    5. Who’s the last person you hugged?
    My son, after he received his Cub Scout Bear badge tonight!

    6. What’s your favorite smell?
    Please don’t laugh, but I like the smell of gasoline and the smell of a cigarette when it’s first lit (but not after it starts to smoke). Never the twain shall meet.

    7. What’s your best bargain-hunting or money-saving tip?
    Spend lots of money to come to Thailand so you can find some of the best bargains and cheapest deals in the world! You want cheap porcelain, we got it! Affordable ceramics! Kitschy souvenirs! Asian silks at knock-off prices! Don’t forget to bargain, though, or the vendors will raise prices when you’re not looking.

    8. What’s your funniest or strangest high school memory?
    I digress to elementary school, but bar none the quintessential school memory for me was when our science teacher used a baseball bat on a TV picture tube to show what would happen, and it exploded in our classroom! I’m still trying to figure out what he was thinking. No one was hurt, but the TV never worked again. (Apologies to those who don’t know what a picture tube is.)

    9. How do you feel about your birthday?
    Great! I started counting backwards at 25, and now I’m 9. Ah, to be a kid again.

    10. What do you not miss about being younger?
    When I was younger, I had health and time but no money. As an adult, I have health and money but no time. When I’m old, I will have money and time but not health. I’m still trying to figure out what I’m missing, because at one time I didn’t have it all, still don’t, and never will.

    11. What about you tends to surprise others?
    That I can be funny and serious at the same time but not be schizophrenic. Well, maybe I am a little. No, I’m not.

    Reply
    • Ha… GREAT answers, M.G. Next time top the competition off with chocolate syrup. (Whoops—that didn’t sound right at all.) Looking forward to reading more about your Kilimanjaro adventures. :)

      Reply
  8. EllieAnn

     /  April 4, 2012

    you like scary movies, don’t you? fun questions and answers!

    Reply
  9. This is a great post August! I got number 9 out of the way in my blog post today! Hahaha!

    Reply
  10. Great answers August! Liked your questions too :)

    Reply
  11. Great Q&A August. I love Indian food too–yum :)

    Reply
  12. Marc Schuster

     /  April 4, 2012

    I’ll have to give these questions some serious thought!

    Reply
  13. Enjoyed your answers. So fun to get to know everyone a bit.

    Reply
  14. Fun, fun! Isn’t Morrow Bay beautiful? So sweet you stayed and took care of your baby (dog,that is). I would have opted out of number six as well. It’s not worth it.

    Reply
  15. Your answer to #3 is so endearing… And I totally would like to be a 70′s hippie!
    The Groundhog Day question (#2) is brilliant :-)
    I hope you had fun, August. Thanks for playing!

    Reply
  16. Yikes! on the one day I get to come home for lunch and see the internet, you mention my name. Wow. And I have to write questions for 11 other people? Er … I don’t know 11 people. Well, ok, I’ll get to know a few more people by next week and give it a go.

    In the meantime, you haven’t watched or read any HP? Really? Oh, wait, you don’t have kids. Right. Actually, I put off reading them until my girl was old enough so we could read and see them together. The series is long, but has several good points. One of the best reasons to see the movies is for Alan Rickman’s delivery of the word “obviously.” I’m not going to tell you which movies that happens in so you get to see them all :)

    Thanks for the challenge, I’ll see what I can do next week (the remainder of this week is already taken with a sockumentary).

    Cheers

    Nigel

    Reply
    • Hmm… Is your hamster available? As I recall, it’s so smart, it might count for 2 pals.

      Take your time with that sockumentary. (Some masterpieces take time, right?) I’ll be eagerly awaiting that and your Q&A post. So much to look forward to! Including HP, apparently… ;)

      Reply
  17. August, I think it’s so sweet that you have a chest of letters wrapped up in the quilt made with material from the two mom’s in your life. That makes me go “Awwww”.

    Rock on, BA!

    Reply
  18. Karen McFarland

     /  April 4, 2012

    I loved your #8 and #10 August! And since I lived the 70′s, I don’t need to go back there, although I was alot younger. LOL! Thanks for sharing and playing! I was fun! :)

    Reply
  19. Wait. Whaaaat? Am I to understand you’ve never read Harry Potter or seen any of the movies?

    *considering this information* Is she screwing with us? No. I think she’s serious.

    So, you know nothing of Luna? Not a thing?

    *weep* Please change this. Please. Someday? Okay?

    Reply
    • Luna, as in the woman who lived in a tree? Or wait—the female version of Clif bars? I thought HP was about trolls… If it’ll cheer you up, I’ll watch ‘em someday—promise!

      Reply
  20. You and your huband spent your honeymoon time and funds taking care of your dog? You chose your man well, August. (And, after reading your interview with your mom, I’d have expected that.)

    Oprah would love your parents. I hope you manage to get them together for dinner–after you attach BA to your name and make Oprah’s reading list.

    Reply
  21. lynnkelleyauthor

     /  April 4, 2012

    I’m so glad you played the game and answered the questions, August. Yep, the ’70s were a gas! I’ve never seen Silence of the Lambs. Am too chicken. I once watched the movie Seven, and it freaked me out so much that it still haunts me to this day. Just not cut out for scary movies, I guess! Fun post!

    Reply
  22. My favorite smell is garlic cooking, followed by the back of my daughter’s neck. All tension flows out of me when I bury my face there. :-)

    Reply
  23. Oh well August – now you got me LOL – I’m soooooo into games. *grin* I’m going to work on this right now.

    Reply
  24. My favorite movie is Casablanca!

    Food would be Italian.

    My favorite historical period is the Revolutionary times.

    Best vacation for me is Cumberland Island off the coast of Georgia.

    Reply
  25. Very cool questions and answers. So you get to make up a new set of questions? Oooh, an evolving game. I like. :)

    Reply
  26. So fun- I love the Book of Questions- I have several that are noting but odd questions.

    Reply
  27. Thanks for tagging me August!

    ‘Seven’? What great taste you have! That movie is sooooo underrated, and I can’t remember how many times I watched Silence of the Lambs and Red Dragon, Lol.

    Reply
  28. I love this meme! Getting to know all my blogging friends a little more is always fun. I can totally see you in the 70′s. You’d so rock it!

    Reply
  1. Blog Treasures 4~7 | Gene Lempp's Blog
  2. Eleven Questions » Nigel Blackwell

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,618 other followers

